Late 1980’s

Two schools, PEPPS Motheong and PEPPS Edendale, were established in Pretoria

February 1990

A group called the Pietersburg Private School Committee (PPSC) was formed in Pietersburg with the hope of establishing a non-racial excellent independent school in then Pietersburg.

13 July 1990

Upon the discovery of PEPPS Trust in Pretoria and the PPSC requested to establish a school under their banner and their request was granted. The initial intention was to offer an education that contrasted completely from apartheid-era education by encouraging pupils to be critical and creative thinkers rather than rote learners. It was decided to empower the pupils by teaching in English and prioritising mathematical skills.


Project for the Establishment of Primary and Pre-Primary Schools (PEPPS) started in Koppiesfontein pioneered by Mr Patrick Hamilton, then Headmaster of Waterkloof House Preparatory School. Advocate Dikgang Moseneke was the first Board Chairman. The mandate of the Trust was to bring excellent education to previously disadvantaged communities at as affordable a price as possible.


The school moved to the current campus in Mygenoegen headed by Mrs Carol Melville and now operates as PEPPS Polokwane. It was pleasing to see racial diversity among the pupil body of Polokwane. Mrs Dora Nkamana became the Chairman of the Board followed by Mr Chwaro Setloane who served PEPPS until 2000.


PEPPS Mokopane was headed by Mrs Charmain Geldenhuys.


Unfortunately, PEPPS Modjadjiskloof closed down.  


PEPPS grew in Limpopo through the establishment of PEPPS Mokopane, PEPPS Modjadjiskloof and PEPPS Ga-Ledwaba as pre-schools which went on to open preparatory schools while PEPPS Polokwane went further to open a college headed by Mrs. Carol Melville.


The first group of PEPPS Polokwane college pupils wrote the IEB Examinations thus becoming the best independent schools in the Limpopo Province; boasting a habitual 100% matric pass rate and over 80% bachelor degree pass rate.


Dr Arthur Ledwaba who was a member of the founding Committee became the Chairman of the Board. Along with a reliable and dedicated Board of Trustees, he has seen PEPPS continue to grow and set young people up to be tomorrow’s leaders.


PEPPS Mokopane was headed by Mrs Grace Meta.


PEPPS Mokopane was headed by Mrs Annette van Wyk until 2019 who laid down a solid foundation of reputable teaching for the Mahwelereng community.


PEPPS Preparatory School and College has been awarded its green Eco-Schools status. The Wildlife and Environmental Society of South Africa (WESSA) / Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF) Eco-School Award Ceremony took place in Polokwane at the end of January.


PEPPS receives the Eco-School award for the second year.


PEPPS Parliament was introduced at the school. Its main purpose was to involve the learners in school issues such as what they wanted the school to add to the school programme and what changes they thought should be made. For instance, learners would request ceiling fans in the classroom, or request a senior choir be put together, or enquire when the Grade 12 sweater would be made available.


The learners of PEPPS Polokwane launched a giant fundraising campaign for the newly created Ngwana Babyhouse for orphaned and destitute babies, in Polokwane. The learners collected R 15 000 in goods and cash. Amongst hers, they collected toys, a pram and a rocking chair in aid of the care centre. Giving donations towards this worthy cause became an annual event.


PEPPS was awarded the much desired Eco-School Flag and was able to raise the green flag on its premises, an ideal that Mrs Pam Smith had been working towards since 2004.


PEPPS Polokwane was headed by Mrs Leigh Melville as the Headmistress of PEPPS Polokwane College and Mrs Julia Werner as the Headmistress of PEPPS Polokwane Preparatory School.


PEPPS Polokwane Preparatory School and College received a Silver Award in the private school category.


PEPPS received the PMR Diamond Arrow Award, which is the highest award given. PEPPS opened a new cricket pitch in the same year.


The long-established PEPPS Ga-Ledwaba pre-school in Lebowakgomo received land from the Ndlovu-Ledwaba Tribal Authority and started developing a preparatory school campus under the leadership of Mrs Mokgadi Rabalao.


PEPPS Polokwane acquired another 8 hectares of land which has enabled the school to expand further and serve more pupils.


Mrs Sharon King became the Head of PEPPS Mokopane.


PEPPS Mokopane opened a college hosting their first group of Grade 8 pupils.


PEPPS received the PMR Diamond Arrow Award, recognized as the best private school on Limpopo.


PEPPS Mokopane opened doors to their first group of Grade 10 pupils.

Scroll to Top